Hey girl, don’t feel badly about having to choose

Hello neglected blog and lovely readers!

I think it is important for Whirling Dervish to have some time on her own with her Dad.

I also think it’s good for the two of us to get some ‘girly’ time now and then (when I say ‘girly’ I mean pretending to be pirates, discussing dragons and descending into mild hysteria over farts).

Whirling Dervish stayed over with us this weekend for the first time since her brother was born a month ago. Hurrah for that.

Whirling Dervish, two weeks back at school and a change of routine at home, needed sleep so didn’t get up until 8am. Double hurrah for THAT!

Anyway, Husband wanted watch some local football on Saturday afternoon so we gave Whirling Dervish the choice – Football with her Dad or all three of us or build a lasagne with me (rock and roll)?

origin_14497334599

Whirling Dervish wanted some time out with her Dad, fine all round.

What I found a bit, I don’t know, sad maybe? Or at least made me pause for thought, was that she went through this big justification that she was only going with just her Dad to give me a chance to relax and I could stay in the warm so I didn’t get a cold.

All very sweet, but I really don’t want her to feel like she has to explain herself over this and, as she grows up, over everything. I don’t want her to worry about pleasing or upsetting anyone is this big blended family meld we’ve got going on.

Stand by your decisions, Whirling Dervish, you don’t need to justify yourself to anyone but yourself (Except when she becomes a teenager and then she must account for EVERYTHING! Hee hee.).

Oh, the lasagne didn’t get made in their absence, I watched some Doctor Who.

photo credit: Skley via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

